Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Stop and smell the roses

Stop & smell the Roses

When I was little I heard the comment ‘Always Stop and Smell the Roses’.

Seems like a reasonable request and since I take things so literally I always felt guilty if one or more roses missed out on me smelling them. Yes, a complex kid for sure but I still feel an affinity to flowers and plants to this day.  My Gran was a demon with flowers and to say she had a green thumb is an understatement.  She not only stopped to smell but to take numerous cuttings!

Of course, as I grew up, I learned that it’s a saying that is really not related to flowers at all, that it just meant appreciating the meaningful things and people in our lives every day – a reminder, a message, for each of us, to stop rushing, stop working late, time passes quickly.  Stop and enjoy the day, the moment and the minute.

Each minute that you miss, is time lost and will not return to you again.

As I type this I’m listening to AccuRadio® and the song that just came on is ‘The days of wine and roses’, a fitting backdrop to a month that has seen so many of my generations icons leave us.

So, take a while this weekend to stop and smell the roses, visit family and friends and remember what it’s all about.

What will you be doing this weekend?

Whatever you do have a happy weekend!   Feliz fin de semana!

Love & Light xoxoxo